Ok

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez l'utilisation de cookies. Ces derniers assurent le bon fonctionnement de nos services. En savoir plus.

11/03/2019

La poétesse

 

(for Sally Sellers)


 

Like a fading piece of cloth
I am a failure


 

No longer do I cover tables filled with food and laughter
My seams are frayed my hems falling my strength no longer able
To hold the hot and cold


 

I wish for those first days
When just woven I could keep water
From seeping through
Repelled stains with the tightness of my weave
Dazzled the sunlight with my
Reflection


 

I grow old though pleased with my memories
The tasks I can no longer complete
Are balanced by the love of the tasks gone past


 

I offer no apology only
this plea:


 

When I am frayed and strained and drizzle at the end
Please someone cut a square and put me in a quilt
That I might keep some child warm


 

And some old person with no one else to talk to
Will hear my whispers


 

And cuddle
near

 

Ici : https://www.poets.org/poetsorg/poet/nikki-giovanni

Les commentaires sont fermés.